Six districts of J-K to be brought under Rajiv Awas Yojna

Six districts of Jammu and Kashmir, including the twin capital cities of Srinagar and Jammu, will be brought under the centrally-sponsored Rajiv Awas Yojna (RAY) scheme aimed at rehabilitating slum dwellers. “The Centre has sanctioned the implementation of the Scheme (RAY) in six districts — Jammu, Kathua and Udhampur in Jammu province and Srinagar, Baramulla and Anantnag in Kashmir — in the first phase to make these cities slum-free,” Deputy Chief Minister Tara Chand said while addressing officers of the State Housing Board here.

He asked the Board to avail the services of available manpower and ensure early completion of the survey of the identified districts so that a detailed project is forwarded to the Centre for allocation of funds. 90 per cent of the expenditure would be borne by the Centre while the State would provide 10 per cent share for the scheme, he said



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: